Thoughts

befunkyme.jpgAuthor Notes:

Experiencing writers block because I know people from my class will be looking at my blog this week….So I’m trying to write an extra good fiction post, but by focusing on an audience I’m failing to write anything. Keep deleting beginnings and running back and forth. Instead of a fiction post as planned today I’ll begin reflecting on my writing process.

I started these blogs writing on Microsoft Word then copy pasting them onto WordPress posts, making additional edits to fit in here, saving drafts, viewing them, then publishing it what seemed like hours later.

I’ve quit doing that. It simply took too long and now that I am beginning to feel more comfortable with WordPress, I’ve quit worrying about the little things as much. I’ve noticed grammar errors in my writing and that…ugh…disapoints me. But then again copy edits can always be made later. I’ve been writing freely on WordPress, checking for spelling errors, then publishing it without re-reading posts first.

An aspect about blogs we learned in class, is that posts dont have to be perfect:

“Web workers (those who work using weblogs and wikis and other social media) use the web to help them work. They often post their work in various stages of completion. Some posts present a fairly complete consideration; some, the roughest sketches, the sketichiest beginnings. Bloggers typically post knowing there will be updates and changes, and often post in draft to encourage comments and advice.

Because the blog is time-based, each post marks moment in the ongoing development of a project. And because a blog is public, writers can call on readers to help them out. The trick is, then, how to signal provisionality – both to yourself and to readers who might be open to helping you out.”

From the wise words of my professor, I remind myself to turn off the ‘editorial’ voice in my head blocking my progress this week, and just let the creativity flourish.

-Sarah D.

4 thoughts on “Thoughts

  1. I agree when I first started posting on WordPress I was so overly critical of everything, but now I have loosen up a bit. Mistakes are okay, the point of what I write is the content, as long as that’s there then who cares about my grammar.

  2. vanmaniac says:

    I started writing fan fiction and was skeptic of posting anything because of the same reason, grammar. Once I started to post a “sorry for the errors, etc, etc,” readers started commenting that the story was rather good and to not apologize so much. They are very understanding and rather concentrate on the ideas, the place the story is going. But if you ask them for advise and help, they are very nice to provide it.

    • SMD09 says:

      I’ve never really seen fan fiction but the more I hear about it the more I’d like to try it out. I guess good content should speak for itself. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

